Search Engine Optimization > Webmaster World > delete or block a file
delete or block a file
Posted by johnny on March 9th, 2006

i have the following problem

when my friend enters his name in google a file appears with wrong
information about him (and he doesn't know who makes this file)

how can this file be blocked or deleted???

Posted by SpaceGirl on March 9th, 2006


johnny wrote:
Nope. You have to contact the owner. Nothing to do with google, they
just index peoples' sites and link to them. If someone else publishes
incorrect information on a web site, it's up to the owners of that web
site to fix it.


Posted by Karl Groves on March 9th, 2006

"johnny" <janwitdouck@hotmail.com> wrote in news:1141911825.160697.13930
@z34g2000cwc.googlegroups.com:

What kind of "wrong information"? A wrong address? Or defamatory info?
If the information is defamatory, he can find out who made the "file" by
going to the address in Google's search results. Then, he can do a "whois"
to find the site's owner and hosting company. Then, your friend can (and
should) send an e-mail to the hosting company about the defamatory
information. He should IMMEDIATELY follow that up with a certified letter
to the hosting company and site's owner telling them to remove the
information. If that doesn't work, your friend should enlist the services
of qualified legal counsel.


--
Karl Groves
http://karlcore.com
http://chevelle.karlcore.com

Accessibility Discussion List: http://smallerurl.com/?id=6p764du

Posted by Tony on March 9th, 2006

Karl Groves wrote:
Actually, he might want to contact a lawyer BEFORE starting all that.

For example: Let's assume that I have a website that says "Karl Groves
is a registered Sex Offender". Well, if I were referring to YOU, and it
were untrue, then it would, indeed, be defamatory. HOWEVER, I might be
referring to ANOTHER "Karl Groves", perhaps even in a different country.

When I search on my name, I find that I am a Photographer, a musician, a
VP of Syndication, a CTO at MIVA, a Geological Sciences student at UCSB,
and a dairy owner - all on the first page...

Are all of these sites posting false information about me?

Posted by William Tasso on March 9th, 2006

Fleeing from the madness of the Posted via Supernews,
http://www.supernews.com jungle
Tony <tony23@dslextreme.WHATISTHIS.com> stumbled into
news:alt.www.webmaster
and said:

William Tasso - there's only one <g>

--
William Tasso

Posted by Matt-the-Hoople on March 11th, 2006

Quoth Tony in alt.www.webmaster

either you are extremely talented or you are a person with multiple personality disorder who has been quoted out of context.

--
# www.mattlindi.com
# matt.lindi2@your_clothes_verizon.net
# remove _your_clothes_ to email me

Posted by Johnny Winther Ronnenberg on March 12th, 2006

William Tasso wrote:
And we have a new player among the immortals. Remember "There can only be
one". So I hope that you are good at swordplays ;-)

Best regards
Johnny Winther Ronnenberg
--
Det er brugeren der bestemmer ;-)
http://www.ronnenberg.dk/webaccessibility/
Last: revision:
http://www.ronnenberg.dk/webaccessib...dublincore.htm
and http://www.ronnenberg.dk/webaccessib...comingwork.asp (danish
only)



Posted by William Tasso on March 12th, 2006

Fleeing from the madness of the TDC Totalloesninger jungle
Johnny Winther Ronnenberg <johnny.winther@XYZtdcadsl.dk> stumbled into
news:alt.www.webmaster
and said:

LOL - thank you, I'd forgotten that. yes I'd better watch my back - or
rather, neck

--
William Tasso

whither a trophy?

Posted by Tony on March 13th, 2006

Matt-the-Hoople wrote:
Those too...

Funbolt.com - Entertainment portal, wallpapers, sexy celebs