Search Engine Optimization > Web Development > Email and web forwarding services
Email and web forwarding services
Posted by James Taylor on July 25th, 2003

Hi guys,

I have a friend for whom I've been performing web and email
forwarding. His web host is pointed at a directory in my ISP
account and I have an .htaccess file there that simply says:
Redirect / http://www.some-other-domain.co.uk/

His email is also directed at my account so I've written a QMail
script in Perl to intercept all mail addressed to his domain and
re-send it to the same mailbox at his ISP account. This is so
that he can invent new mailbox names for mailing lists, etc, and
get his email client to filter on the recipient address.

The problem is, I now want to get him off my back so that I can
do other things with my account. I have been giving him the
forwarding services free of charge, so I don't want to suddenly
burden him with an expensive replacement. However, I would like to
set him up with an alternative email and web forwarding service;
preferably one that can be redirected at will via some kind of
web interface. Any recommendations would be much appreciated.

I had a google for such services and the first one I found
in the UK seemed reasonable so I directed him at it:

http://www.pickaweb.co.uk/emailandwebforwardingfaq.htm

Trouble is, he's now signed up to it and we can't access the
control panel of their site because every time we log in then
try to use it we are promptly kicked back to the login page.

It is my suspicion that this is because they are using some
technique that expects a modern javascript capable browser,
which neither of us have access to. I did some digging in the
page source but couldn't work out what was going wrong because
the link that kicks me back to the login page does not have any
javascript hooks. I've written to Pickaweb suggesting that their
server is misbehaving, and that they should test their site with
more than one browser. ;-) However, I suspect they'll just give
us the usual cop-out that they only support MSIE and Netscape.

I'm now rather regretting being so hasty and anxious to get him
signed up with another service, because it seems likely that
we'll have to cancel this one. :-(

What I'd really like is your recommendations for a web and mail
forwarding service from an outfit that's clued up enough to have
a control panel that works with *any* browser. I don't just mean
one that happens to work currently, I mean an outfit that truly
understands the importance, and is committed to ensuring, that
their interface will *always* work on any browser.

Has anyone had good experiences they would like to share?

Maybe you happen to know the operator of one of these services
and are confident that they will keep the interface accessible?

Perhaps someone here would be prepared to offer such a service?
In fact, any help with this would be great at this stage. Thanks.

--
James Taylor, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK. PGP key: 3FBE1BF9
To protect against spam, the address in the "From:" header is not valid.
In any case, you should reply to the group so that everyone can benefit.
If you must send me a private email, use james at oakseed demon co uk.

Posted by Ian.H [dS] on July 25th, 2003

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Whilst lounging around on Fri, 25 Jul 2003 06:45:00 +0100, James
Taylor <spam-block-@-SEE-MY-SIG.com> amazingly managed to produce the
following with their Etch-A-Sketch:


[ snip long story about you doin a favour for your friend ]


James,

Haver you had a look at http://www.zoneedit.com/ ?

Free service, reliable, stable.. I've been using them and
recommending them for over a year now... and not had one complaint
from anyone about the recommendation, nor from myself to them =)



Regards,

Ian

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: PGP 8.0

iQA/AwUBPyDr22fqtj251CDhEQIQZwCdEVTSV4Lt1yOP7/zHJ92KkC/Mjm0AoLhI
kv5vDrZf493GFk1QRCty/Ph0
=8RjU
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

--
Ian.H [Design & Development]
digiServ Network - Web solutions
www.digiserv.net | irc.digiserv.net | forum.digiserv.net
Programming, Web design, development & hosting.

Posted by Steve on July 25th, 2003

James Taylor wrote in message ...
So ... in other words ... he's a SPAMMER !!



Posted by VinceH (use reply-to) on July 25th, 2003

In article <P26Ua.2926$Ux3.27678809@news-text.cableinet.net>,
Steve <stevie_ritchie@hotmail.com> wrote:
Not necessarily - and I'd be mightily surprised if
James associated himself with the scum of the
Universe anyway.

What he probably means is something like what I (now)
do - whenever I give an email address out, I make up
a new address @mydomain based on the name of the
person/company/organisation to whom I'm giving it.

That way I can track how these organisations use and
abuse my details.

VinceH

--
VinceH can be found in the vicinity of http://www.vinceh.com
Soft Rock Software can be found around http://www.softrock.co.uk
WebChange2 for RISC OS & Windows is at http://www.webchange.co.uk

Posted by James Taylor on July 26th, 2003

In article <hsq1ivo77vel448ef3864fq893mk49s0l7@4ax.com>,
Ian.H [dS] <ian@WINDOZEdigiserv.net> wrote:
Yeah, sorry about all that verbiage. :-)

Okay, sounds promising. Could be exactly what I need.
I'll take a closer look, thanks.

--
James Taylor, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK. PGP key: 3FBE1BF9
To protect against spam, the address in the "From:" header is not valid.
In any case, you should reply to the group so that everyone can benefit.
If you must send me a private email, use james at oakseed demon co uk.


Posted by James Taylor on July 26th, 2003

In article <4c17925e09spambin@softrock.co.uk>,
VinceH (use reply-to) <spambin@softrock.co.uk> wrote:
Quite right Vince! I wonder where Steve got that funny idea?

Exactly so. Thanks.

--
James Taylor, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK. PGP key: 3FBE1BF9
To protect against spam, the address in the "From:" header is not valid.
In any case, you should reply to the group so that everyone can benefit.
If you must send me a private email, use james at oakseed demon co uk.


Funbolt.com - Entertainment portal, wallpapers, sexy celebs