Search Engine Optimization > Search Engines > How to stop? 64.62.136.194 Twiceler www.cuill.com
How to stop? 64.62.136.194 Twiceler www.cuill.com
Posted by -bee on October 13th, 2005

Hi guys,

I have changed the .htaccess as Alain suggested

order allow,deny
deny from 64.62.136.
allow from all

which made Twiceler block all traffic for a few minutes, baah even
with the good bots "client denied by server configuration"

Then I changed the .htaccess to:
order allow,deny
deny from 64.62.136.196
allow from all

and got dead silence for at least 20 minutes.

And just as I was starting to scream in euphoria that d}=%$ bugger
comes back with exactly that IP 64.62.136.196

Further recherche via the almighty Google suggested that nobody will
answer your humble cries when contacting the email address given at
http://www.cuill.com/robots.html

I will now go and do mod_rewrite on all error messages. Well, I guess,
if you can't beat them - feed them.

At this point I would like to thank everybody for their concern and may
this newsthread be helpfull to others with the same problem.

Cheers
angela

Posted by John A. on October 13th, 2005

On 13 Oct 2005 09:47:13 -0700, "-bee" <activebee04@yahoo.com> wrote:

Maybe without the ending dot?

Odd. My denies work fine. (Mostly lots of Nigeria ranges blocked. )
In mine I have the "allow from all" before the denies, and it's all in
an appropriate directory section of httpd.conf. (Supposed to be more
processor-efficient there since it doesn't have to reread the settings
for each directory along the path for each request like it does with
..htaccess.)

IPRange2CIDR is really handy for crafting denies, by the way:
http://www.kgsoft.com/products/iprange2cidr/
....especially in conjunction with ipwhois at http://www.dnsstuff.com/
and/or the database available at
http://www.maxmind.com/app/geoip_country

Posted by -bee on October 14th, 2005

Hello everyone,

many hours later and an error log that would problably printout on two
miles of paper I contacted the email addy given on
www.cuill.com/robots.html as costello@cs.stanford.edu Not that I host
any real hope that anyone will ever reply to it. It only serves my own
little vendetta to publish this email addy here in the newsgroups for
harvesters to enjoy. Needless to say that I also will include it in my
cute little honeypot.

While googling for costello@cs.stanford.edu I even came across Tom
Costello whom this addy belongs to. Quite surprised I found some sort
of a homepage http://www-formal.stanford.edu/tjc/home.html and phone
numbers . So here you go. All ready for spiders. But then on second
thoughts this is probably what he intended -- this extra little link in
the newsgroups - may it be good or bad publicity as long as it is
publicity. At least it will make him famous to fill his courses at
Standford Computer Science < http://cs.stanford.edu/People/?list=Staff
But how blunt can they actually publish a whole list of email addies in
the directory of researchers on page
http://www.ida.liu.se/ext/brs/rac/membnf.html

So much for this Twiceler experimental web crawler (64.62.136.xxx) -
Sorry Tom, I just had to do this. I feel much better now.

Regards
Angela


Funbolt.com - Entertainment portal, wallpapers, sexy celebs